AHRQ--Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Advancing Excellence in Health Care

Patient Safety Indicators Technical Specifications Updates - Version v7.0 (ICD 10), September 2017

Retired Indicators

The AHRQ Patient Safety Indicators (IQIs) contain two types of indicators, including those measured at the area (or geographic) level and those measured at the provider (or hospital) level. Effective v7.0, the following indicators have been retired. For additional information, refer to the retirement announcements: PSI Area Level Hospital

  • PSI 21 Retained Surgical Item or Unretrieved Device Fragment Rate
  • PSI 22 Iatrogenic Pneumothorax Rate
  • PSI 23 Central Venous Catheter-Related Blood Stream Infection Rate
  • PSI 24 Postoperative Wound Dehiscence Rate
  • PSI 25 Accidental Puncture or Laceration Rate
  • PSI 26 Transfusion Reaction Rate
  • PSI 27 Perioperative Hemorrhage or Hematoma Rate

Patient Safety Indicators Technical Specifications for SAS and WinQI ICD-10 version v6.0 can be found here